Prescription Medicine

Biosurgery

Seprafilm Adhesion Barrier

seprafilm® Adhesion Barrier is indicated for the reduction of post-surgical adhesions1 associated with cardiac thoracic (e.g. valve surgery2), abdominal (e.g. Colectomy3) or pelvic laparotomy (e.g. myomectomy4 or C Section5). Adhesions related to these post-surgical procedures might resulted in infertility, chronic pelvic pain & small bowel obstruction. Seprafilm Adhesion Barrier is made up of 2 polysaccharides: sodium hyaluronate and carboxymethylcellulose. Seprafilm has obtained approval from the US FDA in 1996 and received the EMA Mark in 2011.

Reference: 1. Seprafilm Adhesion Barrier [package insert]. Cambridge, MA: Genzyme Biosurgery; 2008. | 2. Walther T et al. A novel adhesion barrier facilitates reoperations in complex congenital cardiac surgery. The Journal of Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery. J Thorac Cardiovasc Surg. 2005;129:359-63. | 3. Becker JM et al. Prevention of postoperative abdominal adhesions by a sodium hyaluronate-based bioresorbable membrane: a prospective, randomized, double-blind multicenter study. J Am Coll Surg. 1996;183:297-306. | 4. Diamond MP. Reduction of adhesions after uterine myomectomy by Seprafilm membrane (HAL-F): a blinded, prospective, randomized, multicenter clinical study. Seprafilm Adhesion Study Group. Fertil Steril. 1996;66:904-10. | 5. Fushiki H et al. Usefulness of Seprafilm During A Cesarean Section. Ob-Gyn Surgery. 2002;13:99-105.

Synvisc and Synvisc-One (Hylan G-F 20)

SYNVISC-ONE® (Hylan G-F 20) is viscosupplement used to treat pain associated with osteoarthritis in knee; and SYNVISC® is additionally indicated for treating pain associated with osteoarthritis in hip, ankle and shoulder; the most common application is osteoarthritis of knee joint. Synvisc and Synvisc-One have obtained approved from US FDA and European CE Mark. A course of Synvisc requires three injections and Synvisc-One is a next-generation viscosupplement which only requires one injection.

Reference: Synvisc/Synvisc One IFU March 2011

處方藥物



生物外科

Seprafilm 防黏連屏障

seprafilm®是一塊由透明質酸鈉和羧甲基纖維素多糖組成的防黏連屏障1,用作減少傳統心臟胸腔 (如開胸換心瓣手術2) 、腹腔 (如結腸切除術3) 或盆腔手術 (如子宮纖維瘤手術4、剖腹產子5) 後所產生因黏連而引起的併發症 (包括不育、慢性盆腔痛楚及腸道堵塞)。Seprafilm已獲得美國食品及藥物管理局 (US FDA) 審批和歐盟認證 (CE Mark)。

Reference: 1. Seprafilm Adhesion Barrier [package insert]. Cambridge, MA: Genzyme Biosurgery; 2008. | 2. Walther T et al. A novel adhesion barrier facilitates reoperations in complex congenital cardiac surgery. The Journal of Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery. J Thorac Cardiovasc Surg. 2005;129:359-63. | 3. Becker JM et al. Prevention of postoperative abdominal adhesions by a sodium hyaluronate-based bioresorbable membrane: a prospective, randomized, double-blind multicenter study. J Am Coll Surg. 1996;183:297-306. | 4. Diamond MP. Reduction of adhesions after uterine myomectomy by Seprafilm membrane (HAL-F): a blinded, prospective, randomized, multicenter clinical study. Seprafilm Adhesion Study Group. Fertil Steril. 1996;66:904-10. | 5. Fushiki H et al. Usefulness of Seprafilm During A Cesarean Section. Ob-Gyn Surgery. 2002;13:99-105.

Synvisc and Synvisc-One (Hylan G-F 20)

SYNVISC-ONE® (Hylan G-F 20) 是一種關節液補充劑, 用於治療因退化性膝關節炎而引起的痛楚;而Synvisc除適用於膝關節外, 亦用於治療不同部位的 (包括髋關節、腳跟及肩部)  因退化性關節炎而引起的痛楚;Synvisc與 Synvisc-One最常用於退化性膝關節炎, 亦已獲得美國食品及藥物管理局 (US FDA) 審批和歐盟認證 (CE Mark) 。要完成一個 Synvisc療程需要注射三針;而 Synvisc-One則是新一代的關節 液補充劑,一個療程只需注射一針。

Reference: Synvisc/Synvisc One IFU March 2011